Stem Cells - is this true?

shelley
ModeratorRRS local affiliate
shelley's picture
User is offlineOffline
Stem Cells - is this true?

I'm not a scientist, so I was hoping someone with a little more background than myself could tell me what the real story is here.  Basically the article says embronic stem cells are not needed because skin cells can be reprogrammed...  

I was going to paste it in but it said at the bottom that it couldn't be distributed in any way.

Ethical, scientific breakthroughs seen in new stem-cell studies

By Nancy Frazier O'Brien

source: http://www.catholicnews.com/data/stories/cns/0706656.htm

Zombie
RRS local affiliate
Zombie's picture
User is offlineOffline
They have claimed to be able

They have claimed to be able to bypass the need for fetal tissue, I can`t say how valid it is.

Hambydammit
High Level DonorModeratorRRS Core Member
Hambydammit's picture
User is offlineOffline
I'm not a scientist either,

I'm not a scientist either, but everything I've heard from real scientists is that there are some promising avenues of research with non-embryonic stem cells, but that there will probably not be anything as versatile.  In other words, I think other cells may have limited use, but embryonic cells are much better at present, and for the foreseeable future..

Atheism isn't a lot like religion at all. Unless by "religion" you mean "not religion". --Ciarin

http://hambydammit.wordpress.com/
Books about atheism

kellym78
atheistRational VIP!
kellym78's picture
User is offlineOffline
The thing that bothers me

The thing that bothers me with this whole issue is that there is an active agenda to try and make blastocystic (ie embryonic--I'll explain) stem cell resesarch seem unimportant. There have been many other sources of stem cells discovered (bone marrow, fat cells, umbilical cord blood) but all of the media attention is a campaign to detract from the validity of ESC research.